• Welcome to Archive - Aluminium Camper Forum.

News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Main Menu

Propane heater in a QS 10

Started by shellee, October 20, 2016, 08:04:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shellee

I'm sure this has been posted before but how safe are the Mr. Buddy propane heaters. Would you use at night with dogs in the camper. Thanks

mjmoore17

I use a Mr. Buddy with a  chocolate  lab in a QS6. I keep the propane tank (I use a 20#) outside. I put the heater on a table above the floor. I use it at night when necessary, I have camped in the 20's. My dog usually sleeps on the outside edge of bed when heater is used. I do not let her sleep on the floor when heater is used at night. Since QS10 has quite a bit more space, I assume there are other options to separate dog and heater.

On one trip, I brought crate for dog. As a night photographer, I keep her in the camper when I go out to shoot Milky Way. I also used the crate on the floor of camper for her at night with heater. She is an 65 lb. pup so crate is good sized.

admin

I use our Mr. Heater Big Buddy heater with our lab mix and he has free range of the 10.0. I must admit he has cooked a few tail hairs but he learned to give it some room quickly. I have slept with the heater on multiple occasions with no worries but I do take normal precautions such as CO detector and a small air vent. Since the heater has a low O2 shut off and tip over shut off I feel safe with it even around the dog.

charleschapman

I being a bit paranoid would not sleep with this heater on. Too many CO calls as a firefighter. Get a good sleeping bag.

idlerockfarm

I just heated up my 6.0 enough to put on non-smoky sleeping clothes and get into the sleeping bag. Too worried to sleep with it. I will need a dog sweater if I camp
In 29 degrees F again since the dog won't cuddle. He was shaking a bit, but he also kept leaning against the canvas walls. My stubborn Chessie....

mjmoore17